[Reflection] Awesome things I learn in IMC class

I am taking an integrated marketing communications class at UBC, and OMG, this class just rocks my world. Credit is given to my awesome professor, Ann Stone, who is such an amazing speaker, experienced professional, and energetic person. She is one of the best profs I have ever had, and she truly cares about students. I just admire her so much and wish one day I could be like her. The class atmosphere is usually very fun and exciting. My classmates are from all around the world and they are super smart. It’s such a joy to study in that environment.

I plan to keep this post like a diary in which I will keep updating new things I learn in class. There are some gems I don’t want to forget, and I’d like to share it with other people too.

1. So, first thing first, this is something I saw in class two days ago.

After watching it, I was astonished by the amount of work put into an ad, even just a simple food ad. They literally have to make everything from scratch and adjust tinny little pieces. And then my prof gave us her experience about peanut butter. Apparently, if you need to do photo shoot of fried chicken (like KFC), you should always bring two bags of different peanut butter brands. That’s the best glue you can find when the crust falls apart. LOL BRILLIANT IDEA. The point is, you will learn these things when you are involved enough and seriously love the brand you are working with. I think that’s a key takeaway. 

2. Always have a script for every situation. Never underestimate the power of you taking control. Be bold. Be different. Be impressive. Pretending to be taxi driver and offering your dream employer a free drive to airport just to steal that person’s 30 minutes may land yourself a job offer, provided that you’re good enough.

3. Creative Brief. Never assign work without a proper creative brief. Don’t piss off the creative team. Usually companies tend to think that because they’re on client side, they can treat the agency however they want. That’s really mean and unprofessional. I am glad that I have learned how to make creative brief in this class so that I can do it the right way in future, assuming that I have the chance to do so.

4. Employers scan key words. Some employers hire talented people from other businesses they working with. So if you really want to work for company A, find a job in company B, which is company A’s partner, then hope that you get noticed by company A.

5. Creative is making the familiarity different and making the difference familiar. – Luke Sullivan

6. Finding your customers. Sometimes it’s hard to persuade your boss that the company’s customers do not behave in certain ways the boss expect them to behave. Arranging a real life test might help. My prof’s example is to set up two tables with different items so that the customers can walk through and choose whatever they like. That process can help discover the deeper psychology and lifestyle of your customers. Embrace personification. You need to humanize your brand.

8. “I’ve got a question for you. What does this city know about luxury, huh? What does a town that’s been to hell and back know about the finer things in life? Well, I’l tell you: more than most. You see, it’s the hottest fires that make the hardest steel. Add hard work and conviction, and the know how that runs generations deep in every one of us. That’s who we are. That’s our story. Now it’s probably not the one you’ve been reading in the papers. The one being written by folks who have never even been here. Don’t know what we’re capable of. Because when it comes to luxury, it’s as much about where it’s from as who it’s for. Now we’re from America – but this isn’t New York City, or the Windy City, or Sin City, and we’re certainly no one’s Emerald City. This is the motor city – and this is what we do.”

Watch this ad. Simply stunning and thrilling. The script, the sound, the motion picture, Eminem – everything is perfect.

9. Marketing is not just about creativity. Marketing involves a lot of quantitative aspects, and that is why I love it so much. For anyone who want to pursue this path, be good at Excel. To avoid having loss, you need to take your time to make a spreadsheet for every receipt you got.

10. There’re more. I will keep updating this entry.

Tagged: ,

Gửi phản hồi

