Summer ranting

Time flies so fast. It’s already coming to the end of summer, and I’m starting my fourth and final year at UBC soon. I think I have becoming a little bit more mature this year. The insecurities buried in my heart are still there, but I start to become more confident, more opening, and more forgiving to myself. Damn, I even know how to treat myself well with some luxury now.

This past year, I truly experienced what people call marketing, networking and “working” for the first time in my life. I had the opportunity to hear and learn from industry experts, entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, and consumers. Somehow I learned how to fake my anti-social side to meet and work with a variety of people. I learned to step out of my comfort zone. Although I’m still not as outgoing as I want, I know that I improved quite a lot, and it made me really happy. I wouldn’t dare to talk that much with other people when I was in high school.

I guess I found my passion. Marketing, that is it. I love the sweet combination between creativity, psychology, and analytics in marketing. Marketing deals with everything in a business – product, place, price and promotion. Marketing is an art, as you have to use both your instincts and critical thinking when making decisions. There is no formula for marketing, and that’s what makes it so charming and sexy. In marketing, creativity is pushed beyond limit. I’m amazed at how people using technology and visuals to deliver their messages. Check out the Art,Copy and Code project by Google to see the new movement in marketing in case you are interested. I don’t think I’m a very creative person, but I believe that if I learn hard enough then maybe someday I can also produce awesome ideas like those people. Sometimes I’m torn about what direction in marketing I should pursue. I know I’m way better at technical stuff, such as doing market research and analyzing, but I aspire to work with marketing plans in an agency environment as well. Well, hopefully I will find out soon. I’m looking forward to my two marketing classes in fourth year. One is about integrated communications, and one is marketing applications. For those two classes, I will be able to work with real companies, real clients. So excited, I can’t wait for the class to start.

A little update about what I’m doing recently. I just watched the Sea of Monsters movie. This movie is way better than The Lightning Thief movie. However, it still ruined the book and was so damn boring, just like the first movie did. I’m just so mad that I don’t want to talk about it any more. What else? Well, I’m doing some research on the cosmetics industry recently to see if there is any opportunity to launch a business. I learned so much about cosmetics in these two weeks, despite the fact that I don’t wear cosmetics myself. The more I learned about it, the more I realized how people are ignorant of dangerous ingredients and products. And I hate misleading labelling so much. I cannot stand those companies who lied to consumers about the ingredients in their products. “All natural”, “organic”,… all bullshit. And I wish Vietnamese people would stop being so foreign-oriented. Support Vietnamese business please!!! Some Vietnamese products are just as wonderful, don’t let commercials fool you. 

Gửi phản hồi

